Finding a new creative path.

Jewish Papercut ArtI’ve been an artist all my life, going from a refrigerator Picasso to a professional Judaica artist in a mere 50 years or so. For all that time, I worked in black-and-white: pen and ink, charcoal, graphite. In 2001, I went from an avowed atheist to an involved Jew and a world of color opened up to me. The conversion led me to study in Jerusalem, and that’s where I found my new profession as an artist.

Jerusalem is a city of buildings made from sandstone that goes from a soft tan in the morning to blinding white at midday to deep gold at sunset. Most of its color comes from the people that live there, and the ideas they express. Jerusalem is (among other things), a city of artists. Painting, glass, calligraphy, textiles, sculpture…it’s all there. The art expresses every kind of notion, from complete abstraction to a love of the land, from modern art to religious longing.

I stayed in Jerusalem a month on my first trip in 2006, to study at Pardes. I didn’t expect to find so much art and so many generous artists willing to share their ideas, their work, their techniques. A chance meeting with a micrographer/artist in a gallery led to meeting world-class calligrapher Izzy Pludwinsky, and that led to meeting the master of Jewish papercut artists, Archie Granot. I immediately became fascinated with papercutting and awed by Archie’s work. I searched out all the fine paper and X-acto blades I could find in the ancient city. I went to school by day and cut paper by night.

Today, I have developed my own papercutting style and have a Judaic art business, Hebrica. It’s not full-time yet, as I still have a marketing practice, but my goal is to make it my “retirement job” when the time comes. I have returned to Israel and hope to do that again, soon and as often as I can. For me, it’s not only a distant and exotic place to travel, it’s the source.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

About lucidgal

Marketer, artist, blogger, entrepreneur, teacher. Helping people connect.
This entry was posted in professionally lucid and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Finding a new creative path.

  1. How wonderful that you’ve been able to connect with other artists in Jerusalem. Hooray for creative people. I’m not very visual, and my fine motor skills are somewhat lacking, so I find work like yours magical! Thanks for sharing your gift with the world.

  2. conniemcleod says:

    Kim, I think your Judiac art is beautiful and I love hearing about your journey!

  3. lucidgal says:

    Thank you, guys. It’s nice to have a creative outlet that has never-ending possibilities. ;o)

  4. Ginger Kay says:

    I don’t know how to phrase this. You’ve given me something compelling to think about – the connection between rediscovering your religion and rediscovering colour. (I’m assuming you had both in childhood, but perhaps that is incorrect.) I would love to visit Israel one day.

    • lucidgal says:

      Actually, I didn’t have either one as a child. So it was all new… Do try to go to Israel. No matter who goes or why, I guarantee they will be awed.

  5. I love how you refer to Israel as the source. I’m sure there’s deep meaning in that. Thank you for sharing your beautiful story!

  6. beverlydiehl says:

    I never would have made a mental connection between Jerusalem and art, but yes, why not? The word picture you paint of the colors of the buildings is enticing, and it’s wonderful you are connecting with art and spirituality in a way that fulfills you.

  7. lucidgal says:

    Thanks for reading. Art probably isn’t the first thing people think of when they think of Jerusalem, but it’s such a visually ~ and otherwise ~ stimulating place. Everyone should go…

  8. Beautiful work! Well done : )

Leave a Reply

