I have a gun.

a new way of looking at gunsYes, this leftie peacenik has a shotgun. We live in a remote area and our house was robbed while we were at work. The robber returned a few days later, this time when I was home alone. If someone is willing to break in, knowing I am there, they aim to hurt me. And I have all the weaponry a homeowner reasonably needs to make sure that doesn’t happen.

Before I bought my gun, I did some research. I asked three army vets, all of whom are either hunters or target-shooting enthusiasts, what I should buy to protect my home. They all said, “Get a shotgun. Just the sound of a shell being racked should send the bad guy running.” I got one of them to go with me to buy it. It took an extra day because I was born offshore and they were doing a background check on me. Once I had the gun, shells and all the tools for properly maintaining the weapon, I got my friend to take me to the shooting range and to show me how to break down the gun and to clean it properly.

I take no joy in owning a shotgun; if I had children at home, I wouldn’t have any sort of gun around. I don’t own a handgun or an assault rifle. I don’t own a weapon that can fire 100 rounds in a few seconds. I have only enough firepower to keep someone from killing me in my own home. If I owned a liquor store in a bad part of town, I’d carry a handgun. If I were a cop or soldier, I would want all the power available to do my job.

I’m not advocating the banning of all guns in America; that would never happen anyway. What I am advocating is a sensible policy to limit the ownership of weapons to what is reasonably necessary to protect one’s person and home. I’m advocating for a change in the “yee-haw” mindset of this country. I’m advocating for a new way of looking at guns, since ours hasn’t changed since the 19th century.

About lucidgal

Marketer, artist, blogger, entrepreneur, teacher. Helping people connect.
This entry was posted in socially lucid. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

